When I taught public middle school ESL in Korea from 2012-2014, I often referred to an online platform called Waygook for lesson planning. This website was designed for native English teachers to share their resources with other natives while teaching in Korean schools.  Waygook led me to an innovative teacher named Leo Fuchigami, who is no longer teaching but has left his PowerPoints and other resources to be downloaded for classroom use.

In my Spanish ESO classes, we have played a comparative/superlative game found on Leo Fuchigami’s website.  To successfully play, there are a few things to keep in mind.

  1. Go through the PowerPoint before playing the game in front of everyone. On certain computers, some of the plug-ins do not work. It’s a real pain in the neck, but as I bring my own MacBook to school every day, I simply bring my adapter to connect to the main computer as needed and project the game and PowerPoint from there. If you don’t have your own way to connect, I suggest trying several computers that work.
  2. Bring a ball. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve played this game and it has just slipped my mind from time to time to bring a ball and we’re forced to play with an eraser. Don’t be that guy.
  3. Edit the PowerPoint. You’ll come across slides with questions like, “Which one is more strong? Bees or ants?” You’re supposed to explain ahead of time that students need to correct the question, e.g., “Which one is stronger?” However, in my experience, only half of the class gets it. Do yourself a favor and scrap this part, change them all to the appropriate comparative or superlative ahead of time in order to avoid the confusion and having students permanently fossilize poor grammar.
  4. Divide the team into groups that make sense. Having too many on one team gets very boring. Don’t just split a very large group into two or there won’t be enough participation from individual students. It may be necessary to select team captains to represent the group as well.
  5. Time Management. This game takes the entire class. I recommend it not as a way to teach, but to reinforce what has already been learned.
